What is a pictures mound?

The pitcher's mound (aka the hill) is the raised dirt area in the center of the infield from which the pitcher pitches. Just behind the center of the mound is the pitcher's rubber, which the pitcher must touch with his pivot foot while preparing for and making the pitch.