How many layers of skin does a chameleon have?

Chameleons have 4 layers of skin: the outer layer, called the epidermis; the chromatophore layer, which contains yellow and red pigments; the melanophore layer, which has the dark pigment melanin and can create brown and black colors or reflect blue; and the nether layer, which only reflects white.