What causes a cake to fall?

A number of factors can cause a cake to fall. Baked at too low or too high temperature, not fully preheating the oven, not enough liquid, too much sugar or flour. Overbeating or under beating the batter can also cause a cake to fall. Use fresh ingredients, measure correctly and follow directions.