What's more expensive diamond or gold?

Diamonds are more valuable than gold per gram. The most expensive diamond sold at auction is the 12.03 carat, "Blue Moon of Josephine." It sold for $48.4 million US dollars in 2015. That diamond was worth $20,000,000 per gram whereas gold for the past 45 years has hit a high of only $60.98 per gram.

---

Since the value of gold is predictable and stable, gold has more value than diamonds. Only a highly prized diamond, like a very large stone or an unusual color, will hold its value or become more valuable over time.