How long does it take a twenty pound turkey to thaw out?

About three days in a refrigerator. DO NOT THAW IT OUT ON A KITCHEN COUNTER. If you've screwed up and waited too long, put it in a big pan and run COLD water over it until the legs move freely.

---

We recommended thawing a 20- to 24-pound turkey, for 10 to 12 hours, (about 30 minutes per pound).