How do you prevent a bear attack?

Make sure to wear bells so you do not surprise bears and bring pepper spray. If you are attacked by a black bear, unless it is a mother, act intimidating and make yourself look as large as possible. If it is a grizzly bear, lay on your stomach, covering the back of your neck, acting dead.