Is there yeast in donuts?

Is there yeast in donuts? Yes there is yeast in some donuts. It's the leavening agent that makes the difference. Cake donuts are named for their cakey taste and texture, are leavened with baking soda and baking powder, whereas yeast donuts are leavened with, you guessed it, yeast.

---

Cake doughnuts, named for their cakey taste and texture, are leavened with baking soda and baking powder, whereas yeast doughnuts are leavened with yeast. Historically speaking, the original doughnut is the yeast doughnut. Both styles involve risen dough and using a deep frier.