Why do you say as a crow flies?

To show how a direct line from point a to point b but not letting trees or roads stopping you or getting in your way.

---

Crows fly straight from one point to the next - they don't have to take roads or worry about traffic patterns. So, while it may be 8 miles from your house to the nearest store, it would be considerably shorter, as the crow flies.