How is potable water different to pure water?

Water that is safe for humans to drink is called potable water . Potable water is not pure water because it almost always contains dissolved impurities. For water to be potable, it must have sufficiently low levels of dissolved salts and microbes

---

Potable water is water that is safe to drink. It may contain other substances such as minerals, disinfectants and even low levels of contaminants. Pure water is free of any other substances, contaminants, minerals, and disinfectants.