What's the difference between a gate and a fence?

A fence is an enclosure that runs various distance. It can have a turn or multiple turns to make an enclosure. It is a semi permanent structure. A gate is usually a part of the fence that has hinges like a door. Allowing you to go through the fence without going over or around.