Can i substitute molasses for brown sugar?

Yes. To make dark brown sugar, mix 1 cup of white sugar with one-quarter cup of molasses, making sure to mix well. To make light brown sugar, add 1 and a half tablespoons of molasses to 1 cup of sugar.