Who is director kazan?

Elia Kazan is an American film director known for films such as "On the Waterfront," "East of Eden," "A Streetcar Named Desire," and "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn". He has proved a controversial figure in film history due to his naming names to the House UnAmerican Activities Committee in 1952.