Are chives the same as green onions?

Chives and green onions are different visually. Chive stems are long, very skinny, solid green and tender, whereas green onions have a thicker, more substantial stem that is green toward the top and white at the bottom. Chives are delicate and tender and are best eaten raw or cooked very briefly.

---

Chives and green onions are different visually. The green ends of the green onion are similar in flavor to chives, and they can be used the same way. The white part of green onions has a stronger onion flavor and can stand up to cooking much like a yellow or white onion.