Is the moon getting closer to the earth?

Nope. At the time of its formation, the Moon sat much closer to the Earth - a mere 22,500km (14,000 miles) away, compared with the quarter of a million miles (402,336 km) between the Earth and the Moon today. The Moon continues to spin away from the Earth, at the rate of 3.78cm (1.48in) per year.

---

No. The moon is getting farther away from Earth at a rate of four centimeters per year. In about fifty billion years, the moon will reach its maximum distance away and stop moving away from the earth.