Who wrote if i were a carpenter?

Tim Hardin (spelled H A R D I N) wrote "If I Were a Carpenter" and performed it at Woodstock in 1969. It has been recorded by numerous artists, including Bobby Darin, Joan Baez, The Four Tops, and Bob Seger.