Who invented cologne?

Johann Maria Farina. In the 18th century Cologne Germany, a recently immigrated Italian man, Johann Maria Farina created a fragrance, which he dubbed: Eau de Cologne, which translates to: "water from Cologne", in honor of his new home land.