Who founded the n. b. a.?

Basketball as we know it was invented by Dr. James Naismith in the late 19th century when he was just a physical education instructor at a YMCA in Springfield, Mass. In 1949, the Basketball Association of America and the national Basketball League merged to form the NBA.