When was cuneiform invented?

According to (part-time Professor of Philosophy at Marist College, New York) Joshua J. Mark, "Cuneiform is a system of writing first developed by the ancient Sumerians of Mesopotamia" around 3500 BCE (or BC). "It was abandoned in favour of the alphabetic script at some point after 100 BCE."