Why are sunflowers yellow?

The yellow in the sunflower is the same yellow that you see in yellowing leaves in the fall. It is the a Beta-carotine pigment, and in the ray flower petals of the sunflower it is produced in the chromoplasts, a type of cell organelle that is unique to plant cells.