Is a cat's tail bone?

Yes. The tail is an important part of the feline anatomy and is actually an extension of the spine. The bones of the tail (vertebrae) are bigger at the base and get smaller toward the tip. This complex tail structure of bone, muscles, nerves, and blood vessels can easily be injured.