Where does the term okay come from?

In 1839, there was a fad of humorous misspellings and abbreviations in newspapers and magazines. One was "OK," from the misspelled "Oll Korrect." In 1840, Martin Van Buren ran for president. His nickname was Old Kinderhook, so he used the faddish "OK" in his campaign, and it caught on from there.