What classifies as a vegetable?

A vegetable is a plant's edible stem, root, tuber, leaf or flower. For example, celery, carrots, potatoes, lettuce and cauliflower are botanically classified as vegetables. Sometimes, more than one part of a plant can be consumed, such as the stem and flower (ex. broccoli).