How do you build a catapult?

Build a sturdy frame A-frame structure, attach a separate arm to one side with a hinge, connect an elastic band like a bungee cord to the arm such that the cord is stretched to its limit when the arm is pulled down. Release the arm and anything laying on the end of the arm will be thrown forward.