How did captain america get his shield?

King T'Chaka of the African nation Wakanda met Captain America in 1941 and gave him vibranium. It was used to make His circular shield. Captain America received a second triangular shield that he used until given his disc-shaped shield personally presented to him by President Franklin Roosevelt