Who says roger roger?

In the 1980 movie Airplane!, Captain Clarence Oveur, played by Peter Graves, responds, "Roger, Roger," to Roger Murdock, played by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar. Murdock had just told Oveur, "We have clearance, Clarence."