What was the lowest temperature in the world?

-136° F. The lowest temperature ever directly recorded at ground level on Earth is −89.2 °C (-128.56°F) at the Vostok Station in Antarctica, but years later satellite observations detected a surface temperature of −93.2 °C (-135.76 °F), on a ridge in Antarctica.