What can you put in a dishwasher?

Items not effected by high temperatures or melt on water heating coils in the bottom of the dishwasher. Most items state,"Dish Washer Safe", I have repaired washers used to clean toys, little parts fall off. adult purchases as well. Dishwasher seems to be a universal cleaning device to sanitize.