What's the difference between rice and wild rice?

Rice and wild rice are two different grass species, not closely related. The familiar domesticated rice, the most widely eaten staple grain on Earth, is native to Asia and Africa. What we call wild rice—also Canada rice or Indian rice—is a different member of the grass family native to North America