Can a cat climb a tree?

Cats are naturally great climbers, quick to escape danger, or to gain a great view. Their curved claws work well to grasp onto the bark of a tree as they climb up, but were not designed to help them easily climb down. Unlike squirrels, cats cannot descend head first.