How long should you cook macaroni?

It takes 7 to 8 minutes in boiling water. Bring the water to a boil and add salt before cooking the macaroni. Keep the lid off the pot and heat the macaroni over high heat. Stir the macaroni occasionally and cook it until it's al dente.