Why does spaghetti stick together?

The reason pasta sticks in the first place is because cooking leaches starches into the water causing the strands to stick together. By using enough water, the concentration will be low enough that your pasta is at a low risk of sticking. The ratio is usually 4 quarts water to 1 pound dried pasta.