Is yeast bacteria?

Both yeast and bacteria share the same characteristic of lacking a distinct cell nucleus and are known as eukaryotes. Under this broad definition yeast can be thought of as bacteria. However yeast are further classified as a type of fungi so think of yeast as a kind of mushroom rather than a germ.