How long can a turtle stay in the water?

If you see a pond turtle on a log and it slips into the water as you approach, it will probably come back to the surface in just a few minutes. However, it could stay under for 15 minutes or more. At night they may spend several hours underwater because they are less active and need less oxygen.

---

Although turtles can hold their breath for 45 minutes to one hour during routine activity, they normally dive for 4-5 minutes and surfaces to breathe for a few seconds in between dives.