Who invented the posted note?

Dr. Spencer Silver accidentally invented a low-tack adhesive while working at 3M, but had no use for it. In 1974, Arthur Fry came up with the idea to use this adhesive on scrap paper to make a bookmark for his hymn book. It was introduced for sale as the Post-It Note in 1979.