When was the mayan empire?

The Mayan empire started as disparate farming villages in 2000 BC, and many of the Mayan city-states were conquered by the Spanish in 1541 AD. The Classic Period (250 AD to 900 AD) is considered to be the Golden Age of Mayan culture.