When do you use affect and effect?

What does affect mean? The verb affect means “to act on; produce an effect or change in” as in, “the cold weather affected the crops,” (it produced a change in the crops … probably killing them). What does effect mean? Effect is most commonly used as a noun, meaning “result” or “consequence.”