How can you tell if a bearded dragon is a male or a female?

Use a flash-light and shine through the base of the tail, above the vent on the tail's topside, and look at the underside. If it's a male, the two mentioned hemipenal bulges should be easily visible. If female, you will not see the two bulges, just the single centre bulge.