What's the k. p. index?

The Planetary K-index, is used to characterize the magnitude of geomagnetic storms. Kp is an indicator of disturbances in the Earth's magnetic field and is used by SWPC to decide whether geomagnetic alerts and warnings need to be issued for users who are affected by these disturbances.