How long did it take to film lord of the rings?

According to Wikipedia the principal photography for the trilogy lasted an astounding 274 days from 11th October 1999 to 22nd December 2000. However pickup shots were also factored in every year from 2001-2003. During those 3 years there would be roughly an additional 6 weeks of shooting every year.