What is pumped up kicks about?

It is a song about teenage mental illness and was recorded to bring awareness to the issue of gun violence among youth. The song's title refers to shoes that the narrator's peers wear as a status symbol.

---

A school shooting. The soon to be shooter is telling his peers to watch out and telling the pumped up kicks to "run".