What do you do when you see a black bear?

Face the bear directly, never run away from or approach them. Make yourself look as big as possible by spreading your arms or your coat. Make as much noise as possible. If the bear approaches and you have bear spray, use it. In the rare case that the bear does attack, fight back (don’t play dead).