What is direction ancillary indication?

A direction ancillary indication tool is essentially a makeshift compass used by laying the tool on a flat surface, adding a water to the indicator bowl and placing a magnetized piece of metal on the surface. The metal generally aligns in a north/south position providing a reference for direction.