Is hello kitty actually a kitty?

No. According to Christine R. Yano, an anthropologist from the University of Hawaii, Hello Kitty is not a cat. She’s a cartoon character. She is a little girl. She is a friend. But she is not a cat. She’s never depicted on all fours. She walks and sits like a two-legged creature.