How do you cook beans?

Place dried beans in a large pot, cover with fresh water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium or medium low and cover. Simmer gently until beans are tender but firm. Most beans will cook in 45 minutes to 2 hours depending on the variety. For canned beans see cooking instructions on the label.