What does rem stand for?

REM is short for Rapid Eye Movement. During REM sleep, your eyes move rapidly behind your closed eyes, your heart rate speeds up, and your breathing becomes irregular. REM sleep is the stage of sleep in which you dream, but REM is involved in a host of important functions.