What does it mean the world is your oyster?

The proverb first appeared in Shakespeare's play 'The Merry Wives of Windsor' published in 1602. It refers to the fact that you have to pry open an oyster's shell to get the meat and maybe even a pearl from it. So the world can give you wonderful things if you work for them.