Who invented the toilet seat?

The origins of the modern day toilet seat as we know it are murky-most attributing the invention to Thomas Crapper who invented the first ballcock to improve on flushable toilets; however, back in Roman times, there were benches or seats with bottom openings placed over communal latrines.