How do you know if tomatillo is bad?

Look for tomatillos with a husk that completely covers the fruit (it's okay if the bottom of the tomatillo pokes out a little), with no signs of tearing. The husk should be relatively tight, and the fruit inside should be firm, but not rock-hard. Too much squishiness means it's over-ripe.