What was a ghetto in ww2?

Under Nazi occupation, ghettos were set up across eastern Europe. Primarily established to restrict Jewish population within urban centers, other perceived undesirable ethnic groups such as Romani were also included. Examples include ghettos in Warsaw, Lvov, Lublin, Krakow, Bialystock, Vilnius.