What makes a product kosher?

To qualify as kosher, mammals must have split hooves, and chew their cud. Fish must have fins and removable scales to be considered kosher. Kosher species of meat and fowl must be ritually slaughtered in a prescribed manner to be kosher. Meat and dairy products cannot be cooked or consumed together.